Space Access Society Action Alert

7/16/93 --

DC-X Followon Funding

Woops. Remember when we told you two days ago that it was time to relax for a while? We hope y'all enjoyed your two-day vacation; things have changed in DC, and key decisions on next years Defense funding, and thus on DC-X's followon, look like being made in this coming week. (Yes, Allen Sherzer, You Told Us So, at least regarding it not being time to take a break yet.)

What's happened is that Sam Nunn, William Natcher, and John Murtha are tired of having the DOD funding process held up while the President comes up with a coherent gays-in-the-military policy. Nunn is Chair of the Senate Armed Services Committee (SASC), Natcher of the House Appropriations Committee (HAC), and Murtha of the HAC Defense Subcommittee. Both SASC and HAC would normally "mark up" their versions of the Defense money bills after the House Armed Services Committee has had its shot at marking up -- but HASC is chaired by Ron Dellums, and HASC Research & Technology subcommittee is chaired by Patricia Schroeder, and they've been holding things up waiting for Clinton's long-promised gays policy.

Nunn came on the Senate floor this morning and announced that SASC was marking up next week, and if Clinton didn't deliver a comprehensive gays policy, Nunn would put his own in. Regardless of the details of THAT brawl, Nunn says he's determined to have the Senate version of the Defense money bills settled before the August Congressional recess. Natcher too is said to have lost patience waiting on HASC -- Defense is the only money bill not already completed in the House. This means it's all likely to happen in the next two weeks, and much of the key stuff from our point of view will be settled by the end of next week.

What this means for us is that we need to concentrate on Representative Murtha's HAC Defense Subcommittee and Senator Nunn's SASC (especially Senator Exon's "Nuke" Subcommittee) right now. Key markups could start as early as next Tuesday. Representative Dellums's HASC and Representative Schroeder's HASC R&T Subcommittee could still be important to us, but they've dropped in priority for the moment. The initiative seems to have passed from them.

Please phone, fax, or write Representative Murtha and Senator Exon, in addition to any members of Representative Murtha's HAC Defense Subcommittee that may be from your area, and any members of the Senate Armed Services Committee from your state.

 -- Representative Murtha (D, PA)
    phone 202 225-2065, fax 202 225-5709, 2423 RHOB, Washington DC 20515.

 -- Senator James Exon (D, NE), Chairman of the SASC Subcommittee on Nuclear
    Deterrence, Arms Control, & Defense Intelligence ("Nuke" Subcommittee)
    phone 202 224-4224, fax 202 224-5213, US Senate SH528, Washington DC 20510.

Lists of the other Representatives and Senators appended.

Keep phone calls brief, polite, and to the point - tell whoever answers that you're calling to let them know you support fencing off $75 million of BMDO (formerly SDIO) funding for a followon to the Single Stage Rocket Technology ("SSRT") program. If you feel like it, throw in your favorite reason why this would be a good thing. If the person who answers wants to know more, answer their questions as best you can, otherwise thank them and ring off.

Letters too should should be brief, polite, and to the point, though you can go into a bit more detail as to why a DC-X followon is the neatest thing since sliced bread and good for the country too. Keep it under a page and state your basic point at the start. Letters should be in the mail by Saturday to have any hope of arriving on time.

Don't overdo it, but in general try to know who you're contacting and emphasize benefits likely to appeal to them.

     House Appropriations Committee, Defense Subcommittee List

Name                          office#        phone     fax  (AC 202)
("Representative XYZ", office#, "Washington DC 20515" will get mail to them)

John Murtha (D-PA12)          2423 RHOB      225-2065  225-5709
Joseph McDade (R-PA10 RRM)    2370 RHOB      225-3731  225-9594
Jerry Lewis (R-CA40)          2312 RHOB      225-5861  225-6498
Charles Wilson (D-TX2)        2256 RHOB      225-2401  225-1764
Norm Dicks (D-WA6)            2467 RHOB      225-5916  226-1176
Martin Olav Sabo (D-MN5)      2336 RHOB      225-4755  225-4886
Julian Dixon (D-CA32)         2400 RHOB      225-7084  225-4091
W.G. Hefner (D-NC8)           2470 RHOB      225-3715  225-4036
Peter Visclosky (D-IN1)       2464 RHOB      225-2461  225-2493
Buddy Darden (D-GA7)          2308 RHOB      225-2931  225-0473
C.W. Bill Young (R-FL10)      2407 RHOB      225-5961  225-9764
Bob Livingston (R-LA1)        2368 RHOB      225-3015  225-0739
Joe Skeen (R-NM2)             2367 RHOB      225-2365  225-9599

     Senate Armed Services Committee List

Name                            office#           phone        fax  (AC 202)
("Senator XYZ", office#, "Washington DC 20510" will get mail to them)

Sam Nunn (D-GA)                 SD-303            224-3521     224-0072
James Exon (D-NE)               SH-330            224-4224     224-5213
John McCain (R-AZ)              SR-111            224-2235     224-8938
Richard C. Shelby (D-AL)        SH-313            224-5744     224-3416
Joseph I. Lieberman (D-CT)      SH-502            224-4041     224-9750
Bob Graham (D-FL)               SD-241            224-3041     224-6843
Dirk Kempthorne (D-ID)                            224-6142     224-5893
William S. Cohen (R-ME)         SH-322            224-2523     224-2693
Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)        SR-315            224-4543     224-2417
Carl Levin (D-MI)               SR-459            224-6221     224-1388
Dan Coats (R-IN)                SR-504            224-5623     224-1966
Trent Lott (R-MS)               SR-487            224-6253     224-2262
Bob Smith (R-NH)                                  224-2841     224-1353
Lauch Faircloth (R-NC)          SH-716            224-3154     224-7406
Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)            SH-524            224-5521     224-1810
John Glenn (D-OH)               SH-503            224-3353     224-7983
Strom Thurmond (R-SC)           SR-217            224-5972     224-1300
John Warner (R-VA)              SR-225            224-2023     224-6295
Charles S. Robb (D-VA)          SR-493            224-4024     224-8689
Robert C. Byrd (D-WV)           SH-311            224-3954     224-8070

Henry Vanderbilt              "Reach low orbit and you're halfway to anywhere
Executive Director,            in the Solar System."
Space Access Society                              - Robert A. Heinlein          "You can't get there from here."
602 431-9283 voice/fax                                 - Anonymous